<  

Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches of Scheveningen are never the same width because of the tides. For example, if you take a relaxing walk on the beach, it is useful to know when it is high or low tide.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Scheveningen for the two following months.

May 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Wednesday 22 May
2:01 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
6:01 hrs
119 cm
 
 
14:30 hrs
 
-78 cm
 
18:29 hrs
95 cm
 
Thursday 23 May
2:45 hrs
 
-92 cm
 
6:42 hrs
115 cm
 
 
15:16 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
19:04 hrs
84 cm
 
Friday 24 May
3:25 hrs
 
-91 cm
 
7:25 hrs
108 cm
 
 
15:52 hrs
 
-66 cm
 
19:50 hrs
75 cm
 
Saturday 25 May
3:51 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
8:10 hrs
98 cm
 
 
16:12 hrs
 
-61 cm
 
20:35 hrs
65 cm
 
Sunday 26 May
4:15 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
9:04 hrs
86 cm
 
 
16:37 hrs
 
-59 cm
 
21:25 hrs
55 cm
 
Monday 27 May
4:49 hrs
 
-87 cm
 
10:08 hrs
77 cm
 
 
17:30 hrs
 
-59 cm
 
22:25 hrs
47 cm
 
Tuesday 28 May
5:40 hrs
 
-85 cm
 
11:29 hrs
76 cm
 
 
18:28 hrs
 
-59 cm
Wednesday 29 May
0:08 hrs
47 cm
 
 
6:36 hrs
 
-81 cm
 
12:46 hrs
83 cm
 
 
20:08 hrs
 
-62 cm
Thursday 30 May
1:16 hrs
59 cm
 
 
8:14 hrs
 
-79 cm
 
13:30 hrs
94 cm
 
 
21:30 hrs
 
-68 cm
Friday 31 May
1:56 hrs
73 cm
 
 
9:25 hrs
 
-80 cm
 
14:10 hrs
105 cm
 
 
22:25 hrs
 
-74 cm

June 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Saturday 1 June
2:35 hrs
87 cm
 
 
10:20 hrs
 
-80 cm
 
14:49 hrs
113 cm
 
 
23:16 hrs
 
-76 cm
Sunday 2 June
3:09 hrs
100 cm
 
 
11:13 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
15:26 hrs
118 cm
 
 
23:55 hrs
 
-75 cm
Monday 3 June
3:46 hrs
110 cm
 
 
11:59 hrs
 
-74 cm
 
16:05 hrs
120 cm
 
Tuesday 4 June
0:30 hrs
 
-75 cm
 
4:25 hrs
117 cm
 
 
12:38 hrs
 
-72 cm
 
16:45 hrs
117 cm
 
Wednesday 5 June
0:55 hrs
 
-76 cm
 
5:04 hrs
121 cm
 
 
13:12 hrs
 
-72 cm
 
17:26 hrs
111 cm
 
Thursday 6 June
1:35 hrs
 
-80 cm
 
5:45 hrs
123 cm
 
 
13:44 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
18:13 hrs
101 cm
 
Friday 7 June
2:26 hrs
 
-84 cm
 
6:26 hrs
123 cm
 
 
14:30 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
18:56 hrs
91 cm
 
Saturday 8 June
3:06 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
7:11 hrs
120 cm
 
 
15:25 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
19:55 hrs
81 cm
 
Sunday 9 June
3:56 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
8:05 hrs
113 cm
 
 
16:15 hrs
 
-71 cm
 
20:54 hrs
73 cm
 
Monday 10 June
4:45 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
9:15 hrs
107 cm
 
 
17:19 hrs
 
-67 cm
 
22:06 hrs
69 cm
 
Tuesday 11 June
5:50 hrs
 
-86 cm
 
10:30 hrs
105 cm
 
 
18:42 hrs
 
-66 cm
 
23:10 hrs
68 cm
 
Wednesday 12 June
7:05 hrs
 
-85 cm
 
11:40 hrs
105 cm
 
 
19:58 hrs
 
-68 cm
Thursday 13 June
0:16 hrs
72 cm
 
 
8:16 hrs
 
-86 cm
 
12:45 hrs
107 cm
 
 
21:04 hrs
 
-71 cm
Friday 14 June
1:16 hrs
81 cm
 
 
9:10 hrs
 
-85 cm
 
13:44 hrs
110 cm
 
 
22:05 hrs
 
-71 cm
Saturday 15 June
2:05 hrs
91 cm
 
 
10:04 hrs
 
-80 cm
 
14:34 hrs
112 cm
 
 
22:41 hrs
 
-71 cm
Sunday 16 June
2:56 hrs
101 cm
 
 
10:58 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
15:21 hrs
112 cm
 
 
23:25 hrs
 
-72 cm
Monday 17 June
3:41 hrs
110 cm
 
 
11:48 hrs
 
-68 cm
 
16:08 hrs
110 cm
 
Tuesday 18 June
0:05 hrs
 
-76 cm
 
4:25 hrs
116 cm
 
 
12:35 hrs
 
-66 cm
 
16:55 hrs
106 cm
 
Wednesday 19 June
0:50 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
5:07 hrs
120 cm
 
 
13:19 hrs
 
-65 cm
 
17:35 hrs
101 cm
 
Thursday 20 June
1:40 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
5:46 hrs
120 cm
 
 
14:10 hrs
 
-65 cm
 
18:15 hrs
95 cm
 
Friday 21 June
2:25 hrs
 
-92 cm
 
6:26 hrs
117 cm
 
 
14:48 hrs
 
-62 cm
 
18:53 hrs
88 cm
 
Saturday 22 June
2:56 hrs
 
-92 cm
 
7:04 hrs
112 cm
 
 
15:25 hrs
 
-59 cm
 
19:25 hrs
82 cm
 
Sunday 23 June
3:31 hrs
 
-91 cm
 
7:46 hrs
105 cm
 
 
15:49 hrs
 
-57 cm
 
20:06 hrs
77 cm
 
Monday 24 June
4:01 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
8:36 hrs
97 cm
 
 
16:14 hrs
 
-57 cm
 
20:45 hrs
72 cm
 
Tuesday 25 June
4:38 hrs
 
-87 cm
 
9:20 hrs
91 cm
 
 
16:58 hrs
 
-57 cm
 
21:40 hrs
67 cm
 
Wednesday 26 June
5:22 hrs
 
-84 cm
 
10:24 hrs
87 cm
 
 
17:44 hrs
 
-58 cm
 
22:40 hrs
64 cm
 
Thursday 27 June
6:22 hrs
 
-80 cm
 
11:24 hrs
87 cm
 
 
18:42 hrs
 
-58 cm
 
23:55 hrs
66 cm
 
Friday 28 June
7:31 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
12:28 hrs
93 cm
 
 
20:30 hrs
 
-60 cm
Saturday 29 June
1:00 hrs
76 cm
 
 
8:41 hrs
 
-75 cm
 
13:26 hrs
101 cm
 
 
21:40 hrs
 
-65 cm
Sunday 30 June
1:49 hrs
89 cm
 
 
9:45 hrs
 
-74 cm
 
14:16 hrs
109 cm
 
 
22:42 hrs
 
-70 cm
Getijden

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide (HW) is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide (LW) in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Ebb and flow

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Oosterschelde or Waddenzee, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go mudhiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.